Flash-fiction

Rebelling in the Rain

passing-through
Image Credit: lesley-oldaker@Deviant Art

It was his fourteenth birthday, and he didn’t want to go home even though he was all soaked through. Since he never listened to the weather broadcast or his mother he wasn’t prepared for this sudden, though predicted downpour that now was hitting him with its big and heavy drops.

He didn’t care. He stood in the middle of the street and watched people hide under umbrellas and hurry away to get under the roof as soon as possible. They ran to their safe spots, to their dry worlds.

He looked at a couple that shared a small umbrella and, huddling, tried to speed up the steps, but instead of walking faster they waddled clumsily and stumbled every so often. “One shelter for two never works,” he thought. “That’s how they feel home too. Their love is as awkward as this run in the rain. It’s all a big lie.”

He looked up at the grey sky. The water flew down his neck, and he felt its cold touch under his collar. “You are bullies!” he cried at the clouds. “Why do you make us suffer?” The clouds ignored the question. “I won’t let you win!”

A man, scurrying by, threw a scared glance at the boy and then immediately looked away.

“Keep running!” the boy yelled at the man’s back. “He thinks I’m crazy. But I’m the only one who is not,” he told himself. “I’m right, and I won’t leave. The rain makes all of you hide in the stuffy cages you call apartments, in the small worlds with annoying routines you call life.” He lifted the collar of the wet jeans jacket and shivered.

“I’ll stay outside. Yes, I’ll get wet, so what? No big deal, I won’t get cold. And even if I die of pneumonia it still will be better than pretending that I’m happy.”

“It’s better here, outside,” he kept convincing himself. “I’ll walk along the streets, I’ll be among people, and I won’t feel lonely. I’m one of them even though they don’t realize it, they don’t recognize me in their blind haste.”

“I’ll stay. Maybe the rain is not a bully at all, maybe it’s just a reminder that you can’t hide from what’s inside you, from the pain that eats you, no matter how strongly you wish to avoid it. I’ll stay. I won’t go home. Nothing that waits for me there can help me. I don’t want to see their false smiles. I don’t care about their stupid cake. I don’t need their fake love. I don’t care because they don’t care.”

The rain let up. Passers-by kept running past a small wet figure frozen in its desperate try to prove the point.

 

The Daily Post

Photo Challenge #29 “Passing Through”

 

13 thoughts on “Rebelling in the Rain”

  1. This was amazing! I’m astounded by how much power and voice this work has after just ten minutes of free-for-all writing 🙂

    1. Thank you. But truly, ten minutes for writing and much more for editing 🙂 Free writing for several minutes is great to get an impulse, but it is not enough to create something readable. At least for me.

      1. Ah, I see! Perhaps I misunderstood the prompt >.< It's still a wonderful piece of flash-fiction 🙂 Free-writing is good in short bursts, but, like you said, it isn't usually enough to create something readable. :0

  2. Very powerful. Makes the reader wonder what has so hurt this young man that he’d rather remain in the downpour than return to his family, who probably DO love him but may not express it or show it the way he’d want them to. Well done!

    1. Thank you. I was thinking that when you are a teen everything seems hurtful; adolescent mind exaggerates every little bit and can’t see things clearly. That’s why the emotions are so strong and not necessarily fair. It’s just a need to prove something no matter what.

  3. This reminds me so much of my own adolescence and my thought-processes at that time. That intense desire to be free, to be heard, to live fully. Only as a teenager much of what we consider living is the fleeting and exceptional moments between and I wager that every moment is exceptional. Just as some children develop a preoccupation with winning that makes the game itself torture and adults sometimes get so preoccupied treading water and keeping their illusions/cocoons intact.

Don't feel shy, say something!

