Too Much, Isn’t It?

manybooks

“Perhaps too much of everything is as bad as too little.”

Edna Ferber

I love reading and I want to read everything that sounds interesting. When I hear about a new book that sounds interesting I want to read it almost immediately, and immediately indeed I check if it’s available online. If the book is easy to get I don’t read it right away because I read something else at the moment; but I put the title on the list of books I want to read. On one of the lists, to be exact, as I have many lists of many books I want to read so badly.

The more I read about new books the longer the lists of books I want to read become and the more I forget the titles of the books I want to read so badly. I even forget where I keep the lists of books I want to read which explains why I have so many lists instead of one.

I love reading the lists of books I want to read (when I’m able to find them). I love it even more than reading the books I want to read. My favorite lists are 100 Books You Have To Read, 100 Novels You Must Read Right Now and 100 Books of All Time You Still Haven’t Read. I write and reread the lists of books so often that I don’t have much time left for reading the books themselves. If you think I’m crazy you are perfectly right, but I’m afraid you are quite crazy too as you are losing your time reading about the books I want to read instead of reading a book you want to read so badly.

P. S. I have no idea who Edna Ferber is, but oh, she’s right.

 

The Daily Post

25 thoughts on “Too Much, Isn’t It?

  1. Love the quote. I can only live in hope that perhaps even one of my recently published books could pique your interest. You can view them on my blog home page if you like. Take care 🙂

  2. Kind of funny…since I’ve been blogging, a lot of my book reading time has become blog reading time, so when you say I’m crazy to be reading your lists, rather than the books I want to read, it works on many levels. By the way…

    Edna Ferber was an American novelist, short story writer and playwright. Her novels were especially popular and included the Pulitzer Prize-winning So Big, Show Boat, Cimarron, and Giant.

  3. If I actually read all the books I have — after seeing a review, thinking “ooooh want!”, buying it and setting it on the shelf for the “next one up” — I’d be a frikkin’ genius.

  4. Joan this was perfect! I too have book lists though I know where at least one of mine is. My problem was I have a lot of I was reading at one time and I’d forget which one I was on. So I started keeping the list in a word doc on my work computer and striking out the titles as I read them. It was helpful but the list keeps growing, and growing. And now of course I have sticky notes on my desk, electronic notes on my phone and heaven knows where else with titles I want to explore! 😉

  5. I do something similar.I picked up several books from shelf and start reading one from them and after 30-40 pages,I look at others thinking maybe I should read that one,no that one.

  6. Pingback: Sad Roots of Comedy | ROUND THE WORD

Don't feel shy, say something!

