Bookworm, My Favorite Names

Nothing Better

adams

There is nothing better than sitting home on such a gloomy and rainy day like the one I’m having here and reading one of the books of Douglas Adams. The brightest and shiniest writer who makes you forget about the weather, the universe and everything.

The first his book I read was, of course, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I remember how it sucked me in right away, from the very first words, and after the Earth was destroyed I couldn’t stop laughing till the very last page. After the book, I believe that the meaning of life is 42 and the only words you should keep in mind are ‘Don’t panic’.

I couldn’t let go of  the book and put The Hitchhiker’s Guide in my bag to read it in the bus on the way to work. I took a seat, opened the book and started giggling excitedly over one scene after another. Suddenly I felt an urge to look up. When I did so I realized that the whole bus, each and every passenger turned to my side and stared at me as if I were a runaway from asylum. Slowly coming back to reality, I fixed on their weary, drowsy and totally confused faces and felt sorry that they didn’t have this book in their hands. One of the men who seemingly envied me asked, “What is this you are reading?” I proudly showed him the cover and plunged back into the intergalactic journey.

There’s nothing better than reading one of Douglas Adams’s books, and not only on a gloomy day like this one. Any day will become sunnier. The only thing that makes me sad about Adams is the fact the he died and won’t write anything anymore. All the rest, thanks to his immortal magic, turns into mostly harmless.

34 thoughts on “Nothing Better”

  1. ALL of Douglas Adams’ books rock! I so loved the mis-named trilogy though! Thanks for the lovely reminder of a really fun read.

    If you’re looking for another title that will cause your fellow commuters to question your sanity, check out Christopher Moore. Any of them are good but in particular I read (and convinced the people on MY bus I was batty) Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff several times and at least once aloud to my husband! It’s not for the faint of heart (or weak of faith; some “Christians” would call it blasphemy; I just call it a rockin’ fun read) but it will make you laugh out loud.

  2. ” the meaning of life is 42 ” <- I just learned this the other day when I was complaining that I was turning 42 this coming weekend. I've never read the book and wasn't really interested in doing so until this post. not because i'll be 42, the meaning of life, but because you sold it to me. 🙂

  3. So there’s another one to put on my “tbr” list! I always get it mixed up with Zen & the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, which I could never get into. Thanks for the good word on it.

  4. In high school, I hung out with the people who loved Douglas Adams, but I never read his books until after college. My first experience was listening to “Hitchhiker’s Guide” on tape during a road trip. After that trip, I raced through the sequels in paperback. I’m thinking it might be time to revisit them all.

  5. I have never read Douglas Adams, let alone heard of him and I regret it from all the comments above- my funny reading has been limited to Wodehouse. Pitiful isn’t it ?
    I am going to put Douglas Adams on my reading bucket list and also Lamb- The Gospel according to Biff.
    I really need some humour- thank you all.

Don't feel shy, say something!

