Sketching

Blogging to the Future

Half a year ago I didn’t think about blogging. I heard there are people who write and publish their thoughts and stories online but I couldn’t imagine I would be one of them. ‘I don’t have anything to say,’ that was how I felt about blogging and writing in general.

Then one day some crazy bug bit me and I thought why not? Let’s try and see what happens. I created a page, published a couple of posts and ran out of ideas. The whole month I wasn’t able to write anything and thought that’s it, the blogging activity proved to be not my thing.

In June Writing 101 came into my life and formed a new angle of view for me. First of all, I realized how many people are out there who, just like me, wait for a push to think about something and write it down. And it’s fascinating to see how different people express their polar opinions and feelings when they talk about the same subject and how unique everyone’s experience is. And your own experience also seems to be unique and worth sharing.

The other important and interesting discovery was that, obviously, you can respond to almost any idea no matter how alien it sounds first. If you give yourself a minute and think about someone’s words or images you will hear your own answer which sometimes will be surprising even for you, like, ‘Really? That’s what I think or remember or feel?’

Thanks to blogging I made a good step towards myself and self-discovery and probably towards honing my writing style. Altogether it’s fun and I keep going, to get to know me, to learn writing better and just to see what happens.

 

The Daily Post

10 thoughts on “Blogging to the Future”

  1. People kept urging me to write a blog and I’d say that I didn’t know what I’d write. Now, 1 1/2 years later, I’ve posted more than 100 pieces of random thoughts. Just when I think I have nothing to write about, an idea forms. The weekly accountability to myself forces me to improve. Good luck.

    1. Thank you for your kind words. Writing 101 was a month of everyday challenges where the editors of WordPress.com offered tasks and everybody who wanted participated to learn a bit more about writing. Blogging University, I’m not sure what exactly it is, probably all the daily prompts are part of it, and they serve to push you to write something every day. If you check your Reader you will see The Daily Post that offers everyday’s prompts. You can write something if you like the theme, and you can check what everybody else has to say on the subject.

Don't feel shy, say something!

