Bookworm, Sketching

I Write Like… Who?

Man-question-mark

Thanks to Cate Writes… who mentioned it in one of her posts, I discovered I Write Like, a statistical analysis tool which analyzes your word choice and writing style and compares them with those of the famous writers.

Following the instructions, I placed in one of my posts, and the program informed me that I write like J. D. Salinger.

“Hmm,” I scratched my head. “Really?”

I put in another post, and the machine said, “Cory Doctorow.”

“Interesting.”

I checked the third sample and now was close in style to R. L. Stevenson.

“It gets very interesting!” I rubbed my hands and placed in another excerpt.

“Chuck Palahniuk.”

I didn’t stop there. I continued placing different posts of mine and was compared to David Foster Wallace, Cory Doctorow again, then Ray Bradbury and then Stephen King.

“I should stop here,” I thought, but my hand copied another bit of the writing example.

“Margaret Atwood.”

“Yeah, definitely I should stop,” I said, but I didn’t and learned that I write like Ursula K. Le Guin.

Ok, enough is enough. Either I am an extremely versatile blogger, or I have no voice whatsoever. I don’t believe in the first, but am not ready to face the second, so I will blame the machine for being blind, wrong and stupid.

By the way, if you’re curious, the post you have just read is written by Cory Doctorow’s faithful imitator. I checked.

6 thoughts on “I Write Like… Who?”

Don't feel shy, say something!

