Flash-fiction, Sketching

Autumn Retreat

ocean-at-night

She felt autumn breeze with all her skin, every pore welcomed its refreshing touch after the infinite hot summer.

She sat on the porch of the tiny cabin watching how big, noisy waves hit the shore again and again. She greeted each one and said goodbye to each one. She breathed along with the swaying water that, far away, played with reflection of the moon, breaking it into sparkles, juggling them and gluing again into a shaky bridge to another world.

She was all alone, far away from her family, friends, city hastle, far from everything that made her life hers. She was far away from him.

“I don’t miss him,” she realized. “I don’t miss anything. I’m in peace here, with the waves covering one another and disappearing one in the other. We were like waves; we were like these waves all the summer. Now it’s autumn, and I don’t miss him.”

She sipped martini from a tall pink glass and looked at the small sparkling circle bathing on the bottom of it. “I hold the moon in my hand.” She smiled. “I hold the moon.”

She heard a seagull; its harsh and abrupt cry cut the dark sky. “The bluebirds don’t live by the ocean,” she thought. It was the only thing she regretted.

25 thoughts on “Autumn Retreat”

  1. I feel intrigued. For some reason, the way you wrote it made me feel like a ghost, creeping in the shadows, listening to this girl’s thoughts as she walked along the beach, martini in hand. Is it the picture?
    Whatever the case, congrats! I really like the character you teased here, and all the mysteries associated with her.

      1. A potentially disturbing story, now that you mention it. I guess this is the beauty of the blogosphere. It’s like an synergetic system filled with inspiration and creativity. We’re as numerous as waves on a beach, and with the will to cross oceans. 😏

  2. I like the repetitive phrases. To me, it felt like she was trying to convince herself she didn’t miss him… like if she said it enough, it would be. (Ha! If only it worked like that 🙂 )

  3. I enjoyed that the water played with the moon by playing with the reflection. I know I took it a step too far but your inspired me here. Good read.

  4. Your descriptions of the moon broken apart by the wave were amazing, and I loved the image of the moon being in her hand because it’s in her glass. Good stuff!

  5. I loved the atmosphere of this piece – it has a haunting/haunted aspect, which really draws you in, but where to? Maybe across that shaky bridge to another world…

  6. I love this description: “She breathed along with the swaying water that, far away, played with reflection of the moon, breaking it into sparkles, juggling them and gluing again into a shaky bridge to another world.” The shaky bridge is such an apt image!

Don't feel shy, say something!

