Sketching

Husband’s Patience

JacobsPatience

I laughed like crazy over The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. He and his guests Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels participated in an improvisational joke set Jacob’s Patience where all of them used mannequins’ arms instead of their own and tried to prepare a cheeseburger this way. I rolled over on the sofa laughing when I saw stiff plastic hands pensively scratching the forehead or struggling with picking up a piece of meat.

My husband sat at the desk behind me; he worked with some data on his computer. After one of my particulary loud guffaws he turned around to check what my hysteria was about. He stared at the TV screen with the most serious face trying to figure out what was so funny.

“It’s a silly show,” he informed me.

“I know!” I happily laughed. “It’s so silly and so funny! Oh my, they’re making a milk shake!”

When Jim Carrey slipped in the spilled milk I fell off the sofa. My husband shook his head and turned back to his work. I kept laughing on the floor.

“It was hilarious!” I wiped off the tears when the show was over.

My husband gazed at me with a question in his eye, but didn’t say anything. Next day, secretly, I checked this program on YouTube and watched it again.

 

The Daily Post

4 thoughts on “Husband’s Patience”

  1. Okay- I can’t believe he didn’t roll over laughing about your laughter!
    But then, sometimes when you’re in the middle of something, it’s hard to shift your frame of mind. You’ll have to show it to him online when he’s in another ‘space’.

Don't feel shy, say something!

